President Biden Approves Tropical Storm Eta Disaster Declaration


The counties highlighted in yellow have been designated as public assistance areas due to Hurricane Eta in November 2020. Image/

By Sara Fox, Local News Editor

Published March 20, 2021

President Biden has approved federal funding that will benefit recovery efforts in the North Carolina counties affected by Tropical Storm Eta, which ravaged the state for three days in November 2020.

The federal assistance will be used for emergency work and to repair or replace facilities damaged by the storm in the counties of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Beaufort, Burke, Caldwell, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Edgecomb, Hertford, Iredell, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Stokes, Wilkes, Wilson, and Yadkin.

The federal funding will supplement state, local, and tribal recovery efforts and is available to eligible state, local, and tribal governments.

Myra M. Shird has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected counties.

Previous articlePresident Biden Approves Tropical Storm Eta Disaster Declaration
Next articleDashboard Shows Statewide Vaccination Data
UNCP student newspaper since 1947.

Leave a Reply